History of Dunnottar

Dunnottar House takes its name from the impressive Dunnottar Castle situated on the outskirts of Stonehaven.

William Wallace, Mary Queen of Scots, the Marquis of Montrose and the future King Charles II, all graced the Castle with their presence. Most famously though, it was at Dunnottar Castle that a small garrison held out against the might of Cromwell’s army for eight months and saved the Scottish Crown Jewels, the ‘Honours of Scotland’, from destruction. Crown, sceptre and sword now take pride of place in Edinburgh Castle.

A darker chapter in the history of Dunnottar is that of the ‘Whig’s Vault’. The gruesome story of the imprisonment in 1685 of a group of Covenanters who refused to acknowledge the King’s supremacy in spiritual matters.

The Castle was the home of the Earls Marischal once one of the most powerful families in the land.  The last Earl was convicted of treason for his part in the Jacobite rising of 1715, and as a result his estates, including Dunnottar, were seized by the government.

The buildings were thereafter much neglected until 1925 when the 1st Viscountess Cowdray embarked on a systematic repair of the Castle.  The Castle was officially made open to visitors thereafter.

Dunnottar Today

Acting PT Guidance (Pupil Support): Mrs Suzanne Birrell

PT Guidance (Pupil Support): Mrs Elaine Davidson

DHT link: Mrs Kathryn Thoirs

Tutor Group Teachers  2020-21

1D1 Miss Dougan Social Subjects Mon – Fri
1D2 TBC Social Subjects Mon-Fri
2D1 Miss Shepherd Social Subjects Mon-Fri R14
2D1 Miss McPherson Social Subjects Mon-Fri R13
3D1 Mr Marten Humanities Mon-Fri R9
3D2 Miss Trimble Social Subjects Mon-Fri R8
4D1 Mr Paterson ADT Mon-Fri G12
4D2 Mr Allen Health Mon-Fri G21
5D1 Mr Lock Humanities Mon-Fri R1
5D2 Miss Stuart Humanities Mon-Fri R11
6D Mrs Andrews Humanities Mon-Fri R12

Pupil Leadership 2020-21

House Captains

Scott Laing                            House Captain

Caitlin Findlay                     House Captain

Emma Swanson                   Sports Captain

Glenn Masson                      Peer Support Captain

Blythe Primrose                  Wider Achievement Captain



Zane Waters              6D                   Niamh Petrie             6D

Rachel Hepburn       6D                   Chloe Webster          6D

Kirsty Hughes           6D                   Erin Davidson           6D

Jay Stockton             6D                   Logan Masson           6D

Caelan Gillon            6D                   Kayleigh Thomson   5D2

Elspeth Paterson     5D1                  Amie Byres                5D1

Jamie Guest             5D1                  Aron Staff                  5D1

Marcie Perks           5D2                 Robert Clark              4D2

Lucy Williams         4D2                 Daniel Harris            4D1

Roan Beattie            4D1                 Rosa Macaulay         4D1

Aimee Dawson        4D2                 Logan Thom             4D1

Madeleine Watt       4D2                Lachlan Smith         4D1


Junior House Captains